How I became a minimalist as a teenager

20170616_170502

Hi, and welcome!

I tried to figure out the perfect way to commence this blog. But I had to write something and it wouldn’t be perfect no matter what. That’s okay with me. My values have changed drastically over a very short amount of time. I want to share a bit of how much my life has changed through minimalism and just perhaps inspire someone else? Okay I will dig right into it.

Not so long ago I hadn’t even developed the thought of blogging about minimalism. Yeah, short before that I didn’t even know what minimalism was.

I am a teenage girl, turned 16 this year. The age might not be significant, although I believe it plays a big part. For instance, I am thankful for discovering minimalism before getting the chance to move out of my parents’ house. I’m talking about debt and poor investments. Had I moved out a year ago I would have lived quite an ordinary life. I don’t want that.

Turn back time about three years. In my dairy, which I no longer have, I wrote something like this to myself: “Promise me one thing. Have a big closet. Life is too short to wear ugly clothes.” I did not have that mindset all the time, but it showed quite well my priorities in life. Embarrassing. I never had much money if you compare to the other kids at school. I know now that I had everything I needed and more. I’ve always tried to feel happy, carefree and peaceful using different methods. Like most people I turned to material stuff, or more correct, the dream of material stuff. I would imagine how to spend my money once I earned my own, what my apartment would look like and making lists of things to buy. Then I tried to find peace in organizing my things, cleaning my room and constantly rearranging what I owned. It was tiring but for a while I thought it was the ultimate way to be happy. Organizing and letting everything have its own place. No. I was wrong.

Eventually I’d get exhausted from trying to maintain a clean look in my room. I compare it to how I was feeling at the time. I looked happy but inside I was lifeless. My room looked neat but behind that was drawers hiding crap and time used in a way I wasn’t content with. I knew I had to do something but what? I decided to only buy things with good quality. Then I didn’t see the point of keeping what did not make me happy. Now something really started happening. This was about a year ago. I don’t remember the exact time but oh I remember the feeling. The feeling of finding a way to live your life, for the rest of your life. But I didn’t know about minimalism, yet.

I searched all over the internet for something that told me I could be equally as happy without buying things. I wanted confirmation on my theory that it was okay to go the other way- owning less. A few days later “decluttering” and “minimalism” was all I could think about. (Yeah I still think a lot about minimalism for that matter…) It took me a year to get where I am today. I constantly figured I was done decluttering when I stood there again with three full bags ready to be given to charity. If it’s something I have learned is it that you never know where you end up so be sure to always have an open mind.

Now I am in a place where I don’t own much and my drawers and furniture are pretty much empty. Even so, I could declutter a total of seven things yesterday! I can’t believe I’m so fortunate to live my life like this. I am truly lucky. Every morning I wake up with a positive outlook on the day, tons of ambitions and I’m ready to fight for myself and others. I make sure everything I do is meaningful to me and sustainable for the environment, everything from watching a movie or making important choices. I can say “I love myself”. I went from an actual depression to feeling good even on my worst days.

Because somewhere in the back of my mind I know that everything is going to be alright.

How I became a minimalist as a teenager

Leave a Reply

